top of page

How to break Satan’s hold on your Children

Updated: Apr 12

The moment I finished writing and published my second book—The Path of the Chosen Warriors, which is based a lot on spiritual warfare—breaking free from spiritual bondage, the devil started to attack me.



And would you like to know how he did it? He did it through one of my nephews that I helped raise.


This book came right in the midst of me learning more about spiritual warfare and the mysteries and meanings behind our dreams. The Lord gave me the idea for this book through a vision of a couple getting lost in a storm and ending up in a strange town.


At first, I didn’t know how I was going to write a book to help readers see the importance of their dreams, and even how to use spiritual warfare prayers to defeat the enemies they faced. When I went to the Lord about it, the whole story soon began to unfold in my mind one chapter at a time.


It was never revealed to me how the whole story would unfold when I started writing, and this was how I developed a dependency on seeking the Lord every time I needed to start writing.


I began to see and understood how the disciples relied on God for what to write. Each time I went in front of the computer to start a new chapter, I prayed, ‘Lord help me to write this book in the right order and for the right readers,’ and just like that it would start to flow.


I learned from writing, ‘The Path of the Chosen Warriors, that my writing was not only to entertain readers but also to deliver them through a medium that is easier to have them understand his message, almost as Jesus did with parables.


It was with that knowledge of me recognising my writing as more my calling that the devil began to challenge me and trying to frustrate me.


prayer for children protection

My nephew was not kind in the things he allowed the devil to use him to say or even do. Many times, I found myself wondering what lesson I was to learn through this. Oh, I forget to mention, the Lord had also told me one morning that it was indeed the devil using him against me. By the time I had finished writing and publishing, The Path of the Chosen Warriors, I was also a widow after being married for two months to my best friend. (You can download a copy of the first five chapters below and get introduced to that story)


My third book “A Shattered Life Restored” is dedicated to him and that experience. (You can download a copy of the first five chapters below and get introduced to that story.) Things that the devil used my nephew to say, brought tears to my eyes those first few months, and when he got disruptive, I even went to the police. 


Although it seemed as if the devil was having a field day at my expense as it spans over three years and ended at the end of 2018, I was becoming stronger in my prayer life. Learning to pray more spiritual warfare prayers and keeping at it, even when I felt I wanted to see the last of my nephew.


During those times of praying, I found myself praying for him every time the negative thoughts came in my head about him, and I started redirecting my prayers against the forces using him. It is when you take the time to read the word of God and learn scriptures such as this one, Ephesians 6:12 (KJV) which say, "For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places," that you will know who your real enemies are and that they aren't the people you see every day.


prayer for children protection

Many times, God would show me in visions or dreams of what was taking place in the spiritual battles behind the scenes. Even one of where I saw myself casting out a slug demon out of that same nephew.


These experiences with my nephew helped me create the chapters in the new book—A Shattered Life Restored, which deals with breaking Satan’s hold from our children. The Lord even gave me the scripture reference to use as the weapon against the devil for the book, through another vision. This vision involved my younger nephew who was chased by a homosexual/cross-dressing spirit. When I woke up from that dream, I right away began to use the scripture given to me and prayed against that spirit. Then I anointed my nephew with olive oil all over his private area, rear end and also his head to protect his mind.


So for anyone who wants to live in denial thinking that these behaviours are born with, I learned from God through these dreams that that isn’t so, especially when God started giving me those visions not only for one, but quite a few of my nephews of different spirits that wanted them.


Matthew 24-30 says, “Another parable put he forth unto them, saying, The kingdom of heaven is likened unto a man which sowed good seed in his field: But while men slept, his enemy came and sowed tares among the wheat, and went his way. But when the blade was sprung up, and brought forth fruit, then appeared the tares also. So the servants of the householder came and said unto him, Sir, didst not thou sow good seed in thy field? From whence then hath it tares? He said unto them, An enemy hath done this. The servants said unto him, Wilt thou then that we go and gather them up? But he said, Nay; lest while ye gather up the tares, ye root up also the wheat with them. Let both grow together until the harvest: and in the time of harvest I will say to the reapers, Gather ye together first the tares, and bind them in bundles to burn them: but gather the wheat into my barn.”


God always shows us what the devil is doing in our lives and our children' when it’s in its infancy. This is so we can pray and fast to destroy them while they are in the seed stage—easier to defeat. If we get the revelation from God and leave it to grow as referenced in the above scripture, while our children are growing to the age of understanding, then it will be much harder to separate, and you risk even losing your children to the enemy.  


prayer for children protection

The minute I get any vision about anyone in my family, I begin to pray against and cancel whatever evil plan of the devil that God reveals to me and this you can do for a whole week. I don’t want to have to battle that enemy when it’s matured in my relative and risk losing my family member or even my own life.


In, A Shattered Life Restored,’ I use the scripture reference given to me in the vision to create some prayer points for the couple to pray for their son along with fasting.


When you get a copy of any of my books know that you are getting fictional stories but based a lot on real-life experiences and all the scriptures and prayers are what I have been using in my own battles, which is how I can share them with you through the characters. I have been tested and attacked by the enemy for each book because the enemy knows that it's not all fiction. They are deliverance through fiction.


What is a good prayer for protection?


Here is a prayer that as a parent you can use to take your child out of the enemy's hand. It was a pastor I was listening to that prayed it when the devil wanted to take his daughter's life who was about to deliver a baby. He said he spoke using his parental authority over the enemy, which you do have, and he claimed her from the enemy's hold. So in the prayer where you see me mention death, hell and the grave, you can replace with whatever situation the devil is using to try to steal your child, for example drug addiction.


"I invoke divine restriction order over death, hell and the grave. You cannot have my child. He/She is mine; I take him/her. I buy he/she back. I redeem my child by the blood of Jesus from the hand of the enemy in the name of Jesus."


You can also personalize Psalms 35, 27, 91, or 23 inserting you and family's name in them and pray them before bed. It's a good way to teach your children how to pray. Get into the habit of praying scriptures with them before bed and get out of the reading stories before bed. Let the word be the last thing they digest before bed.


How do you break a stronghold or the devil's grip on your children?


As parents in order for us to break the devil's hold over our children, we have to be prayerful, not afraid to fast and be walking righteous before the Lord. God doesn't only speak or reveals things to us through dreams, He will many times do so through his Holy -Spirit. I just tend to get a lot of visions, but you can hear from Him differently.


Get used to praying at midnight. This is the time when witches and evil spirits set their evil plans in motion against us. So our best defense is to send back their evil plans in the same hour. Also, get into the habit of praying after you get an evil dream about you or your kids, don't leave or wait till many days pass. You will regret it later. Don't be spiritually lazy or in some person's cases dead. Cover your children every day, both when they are going out of the house and when they are going to bed, with the Blood of Jesus. This one you must not fail in doing- I beg you. Ask God, according to Psalm 91 v 11 to give his angels charge over your children to keep them. Teach them to pray Psalm 91 before bed when they are able to.


This new year 2022 will be perilous, as relayed by my church prophet, but if we are prayerful, God will see us and our loved ones through. In your prayer time, ask God to remove from you, your kids, and your spouse everything of the flesh that will cause you to stumble. Ask the Holy Spirit to help you develop a consistent prayer life, for the sake of you and your family not following the masses on the broad road that leads to hell. To keep you through the tough times and open doors for you but for you, your spouse and children to have discernment to know when it's from God.


Book Recommendation

I created this short video snippet from my book- A Shattered Life Restored which is mentioned in this post. In the video you see David and his parents having a conversation and it deals with the very issue in this post, which will shed a lot of light for many parents on how to deal with the attacks that come to their children and how they can help them stay guarded. I hope you will check it ok and leave a comment of how you felt after watching.





15,253 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page