top of page

How to feed your spirit man?

Updated: Apr 9

First we must ask- Do you see the need for your spirit? Or why do we have one?


The answer to that is - Our spirit-man is what connects us to our heavenly father. We are all spiritual beings that live in a body and dwell in the earth realm, but because of sin, we were separated from our father. However, our heavenly father loves us so much that even in our sinful state, He predestined His only son-Jesus Christ to come into the world to redeem us from the bondage of sin and bridge the relationship between us and Him.


How to feed your spirit man

Jesus Christ is the bridge that connects us back to the father. The thing is, even when we accept Jesus Christ into our hearts as Lord and Saviour, we still need to build our spirit-man for the intimate relationship with our father to be restored. The reason for this is, we are still living in a world full of sin and without having that relationship restored with the father, we can still fall victims of sin and end up in hell with everyone who rejects the heavenly father.


Fasting is a great way to build your spirit-man and deepen your relationship with your heavenly father, it's not just to make requests.


How to feed your spirit man

Some months ago I decided I needed to do a 3 days dry fast – that means no food or drink for the entire 3 days. It is during this time I learned something very important about our spirit-man and the dangers of not feeding it.


I had done a 3 days dry fast once before a few years ago and had no problems. This time, however, I prayed and asked the Lord to help me get through it one day at a time. I did my usually praying, reading the word and sing worship songs during the day. At about 9 pm on the second day, I felt really weak, throat dry and headache and although I really wanted to even finish that day, I failed and broke it.


I felt really bad about my inability to complete the three days when I had done before, and that night I stood in front of my mirror and asked God this question.


If I don’t eat for a day and my body feels like this, how does my spirit feels when I fail to feed it?


Headaches, sore throat, dizziness, and even tiredness are some of the symptoms one usually feels when they embark on fasting.


What are some of the symptoms we experience when we fail to feed our spirit?


First, I compared our spirit man to that of trees since the Bible sometimes refers to man as a tree, in order to better get an answer.

  1. Trees need water to flourish.

  2. To bear fruits.

  3. Without it, they dry up and no fruits can come forth.

Our spirit man needs the Word of God the same way trees need water to flourish and bear fruits. It’s what helps us to become mature Christian full of knowledge, wisdom, and understanding, and also what allows us to produce fruits. Galatian 5 vs 22-23, list them as; love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance.


So the evidence of our Spirit man not getting nourishment the same way we feed our flesh will be our lack of seeing the fruits mentions about in our lives. The way we deal with problems, hardships, and struggles, through the knowledge of the word and our actions will let us know if we are producing fruits. And if we can’t see any of the above fruits reflecting in any situation, then that alone should tell us that our spirits are underfed.


3 Ways you can feed your spirit

3 Ways you can feed your spirit

If you want to have a healthy spiritual life, do like what I have started since I learned that bit from my failed fasting:

  • Start reading the word more and spend some time meditating on what you read. Always try to pray first, asking God to give you an understanding of what you are about to read.

  • Remembering how you feel when your body goes without food for any period of time and be reminded that your spirit experiences the same.

  • The most important thing too is to note that our enemies are not carnal so it would be in your best interest not to starve your spirit since it’s the part of you that connects you to God and you will need that intimacy with him to have victory over your enemies.

God doesn’t expect us to be crying when problems come, but stand strong because we are armed with His Word and should know what to expect and how to prevail.


Crying and falling into desperation is the result of when we deprive our spirit-man or inner man of proper nourishment. Some will say it’s hard to read the word of God every day, but consider what I just said and decide if it’s worth to starve the part of you that connects you most to God. If you struggle to read the word then you need to go through deliverance. You probably are under the influence of some witchcraft or serpent spirit.


Fasting is a major theme in my two books: The Path of the Chosen Warriors and A Shattered Life Restored-which have a lot of spiritual warfare elements in them. Both books had instances where the main characters had to employ fasting to get a major breakthrough in tough situations and the prayers they used are all scriptural warfare prayers that I use in my own life as well.



some of the manifestations that we experience when we fast.


I recorded all of them in the book as part of the experience the people went through during their fasting and deliverance. It definitely would be an eye-opener for you to know what to expect when you are fasting and experience certain things.




In A Shattered Life Restored-the Lord gave me the scriptures that I used to create the deliverance prayers for the couple who went on fasting for their son.


So if you have kids and need help there, this book would be for you.



Here is a bonus freebie I put together just for you to help you with your next fasting. I hope it helps you a lot.



254 views0 comments
bottom of page