top of page

How to Fight Spiritual Battles

Updated: Apr 12

Have you ever wondered why each time you get on the spiritual battlefield instead of things getting better, they seem to get worse?


Back in 2014 when I first started learning about spiritual warfare and understanding the significance our dreams played in showing us the enemies we faced. I embarked on doing midnight prayers as it was the best time recommended by my spiritual teachers. It’s when most of the battles we face are planned and executed against us, which is why we as Christians need to start engaging in midnight prayers more often. Jesus did it too.


However, back then when I was up each night engaging in prayers, I realized that things seemed to get worse and sometimes the attack of the enemy scared me into thinking I was in over my head. However, I learned to press on, reminding myself that God did not give me a spirit of fear but love power and a sound mind, (2 Timothy 1:7) therefore I can have victory and I did.


In my study of the word at present, I am reading the book of Exodus and when I got to chapter seven, I suddenly understood why many times it might seem things get worst in our spiritual battles before it gets better.


how to fight your spiritual battles

It was here that I knew God could harden our enemy’s hearts against us when we engage in battle. Not to defeat us but to show our enemies his sovereignty and power. Also to build our confidence in His ability to deliver us from any circumstances.


You see when God steps into our fight, he does not just want to remove our enemies from us, He wants to completely wipe them out.


The first day Moses went before Pharaoh and told him to let God’s people go, so they could hold a feast unto Him in the wilderness, Pharaoh asked him a question. As I’m writing this post now, I realize that this was one of the reasons God sent 10 plagues, so at the end of all the plagues, Pharaoh would definitely know the answer to his question.


He asked: Who is the Lord, that I should obey his voice and let Israel go? I know not the Lord, nor will I let Israel go.


In his arrogance, he instead increased the labour on the children of Israel, which is almost the same as when we engage in battle, everything gets harder and you wonder if God is with you in your battle.


Here you are trusting in God to fight for you as his word promises, you have repented of your sins, walking in righteousness in order to win your battles, yet you are seeing everything turn against you.


That was what Moses went to God and complained about at the end of chapter 5 and God responded in chapter 6. What God said in verses 1-2 has given me such a boost in confidence knowing he has got my back.


Exodus 6:1-2 says, “Then the LORD said unto Moses, Now shalt thou see what I will do to Pharaoh: for with a strong hand shall he let them go, and with a strong hand shall he drive them out of his land. And God spake unto Moses, and said unto him, I am the LORD.”


The Lord said—I AM THE LORD. That is like saying don’t worry my child, by the time I am done with this demon plaguing you he will now the God you serve.

The 10 Plagues Battle Plan Strategy


Let us look at the ten plagues and see how we can come up with our own battle plan from what God gave Moses.

  1. God turned water into Blood, which plagued the land for 7 days. It poisoned all life in the rivers. Pharaoh’s magicians could not stop it.

  2. God brought up frogs from the river to cover the land. When Pharaoh’s magicians did their own enchantments, it only increased the frogs even more.

  3. Lice were the third plague and when Pharaoh’s sorcerers tried to do their magic and could not they told Pharaoh –“This is the finger of God.”

  4. When God sent the flies, he covered his people from it so the flies only attacked the Egyptians. God knows how to shield us from any onslaught he sends against our enemies that are in our midst.

  5. All the cattle of Egypt were destroyed while the Israelites were saved.

  6. Boils so bad that the sorcerer could not stand before Moses.

  7. Hail with Fire, which destroyed anyone out in the field along with all the crops.

  8. Locust finished destroying everything the hail did not get.

  9. Darkness upon the land for three days.

  10. Death of all the first-born of Egypt.

There was one pattern I noticed happened for nearly all the plagues that God sent, and it is this: Pharaoh would repent and promised to let the people go but as soon as Moses went before God to remove that plague, God would harden his heart again.


Although God told Moses in Chapter 10 that he did it to show His signs to Pharaoh, and also for the Israelites to know who he was and have something to pass on to their children, to build their faith and confidence in him; I also saw the enemy’s ability to deceive us. If the devil can play dead when we start our spiritual battles and get us to cease praying, thinking the battle is won before we’re supposed to stop praying, then just like Pharaoh, you will see that devil quickly going back to his plans and plots against you.


If God says, go on 7 days fasting and prayer for something; DO NOT quit halfway in it if you think you have victory. Look at pharaohs’ characteristics/behaviours and keep your focus.


So Summary:

  • Remember that the enemy is attacking you because your prayers are causing him havoc like the plagues did Pharoah and so he will try to stop you from continuing many times by making things come against you, but press on.

  • Remember what God told Moses in Exodus 6:1-2, ““Then the LORD said unto Moses, Now shalt thou see what I will do to Pharaoh: for with a strong hand shall he let them go, and with a strong hand shall he drive them out of his land. And God spake unto Moses, and said unto him, I am the LORD.” and fight with confidence trusting in the God you serve.

  • Know that while you are fighting, God will cover you and your loved ones from whatever onslaught he sends your enemy.

  • Remember that sometimes seven days isn’t enough time to defeat your enemy and so you have to get another ammunition out.

  • God wants to rid you of your enemies for good- so don’t get frustrated.

Let us create our own battle plan.


Please try to repent before the Lord before you start praying and trust in Exodus 6:1-2 to help you stay confident in God’s ability to deliver you. As this is my own battle plan added below, remember to change the word marriage to whatever you struggle with, if yours is different, okay. Remember, God is greater than your enemies. God bless you. If you can get into the habit of praying at midnight it would be great to do these then. Let’s get started. Please spend some time praying each.

My 21 Days Spiritual Battle Plan using God’s Great Army (the Plagues)


Confession: Father, if I am called by your name, and find favour in your sight, allow your great army to act on my behalf and obey my voice to fight against my enemies, as they obeyed Moses’ voice against Pharaoh in Jesus name.


1. Water to Blood (Exodus 7: 15-25)—You Pharaoh Spirit keeping my marriage in captivity, I command you to let it go now. If you refuse and try to turn the mind of my next potential husband against me, in order to make him run away and quit our relationship, I smite the rod of Moses into all your water supply, from the north, the south, the east, and the west. Let that water be turned to blood and cause all life in it to perish and let the waters become stink in Jesus’ name. Pray for seven days straight.


2. Frogs (Exodus 8:1-13)—You Pharaoh Spirit keeping my marriage in captivity, I command you to let it go now. If you refuse and try to turn the mind of my next potential husband against me, in order to make him run away and quit our relationship, I stretch forth the rod of Moses around all your borders. Over all your rivers, all your streams and ponds and call forth frogs to cover your entire kingdom. Let every witch or wizard in your kingdom who will try to use enchantment against me, by bringing forth their own frogs like the sorcerers of Pharaoh did, only increase the plague upon yourselves even more in Jesus’ name. Pray this for two days


3. Lice (Exodus 8: 16-19)—You Pharaoh Spirit keeping my marriage in captivity, I command you to let it go now. If you refuse and try to turn the mind of my next potential husband against me, in order to make him run away and quit our relationship, I stretch forth the rod of Moses and smite the dust of the land of your dwelling, let lice spread through your entire kingdom. Let lice cover you, and everyone in your kingdom and all your cattle from the crown of your heads to the sole of your feet. Let all your sorcerers be put to shame when they do their enchantments or spells, so that out of their own mouths, they will acknowledge like the Egyptians did – that this was the finger of God at work in Jesus’ name. Pray for one day


4. Swarms of Flies (Exodus 8:21-24)—You Pharaoh Spirit keeping my marriage in captivity, I command you to let it go now. If you refuse, and try to turn the mind of my next potential husband against me, in order to make him run away and quit our relationship, let the Lord’s army of flies be released upon your household, your servants, your allies and all those who aid you with evil devices and supplies to use against my life. Let flies cover your entire kingdom and the very ground you walk on. Father as you sever your people Israel so the plague did not affect them, Lord I ask you to cover me and my husband with the blood of Jesus so we are not affected by this plague in any way in Jesus’ name. Pray for one day

how to fight your spiritual battles

5. The Grievous Murrain (Exodus 9: 1-7)—You Pharaoh Spirit keeping my marriage in captivity, I command you to let it go now. If you refuse and try to turn the mind of my next potential husband against me, in order to make him run away and quit our relationship, let the hand of the Lord release a very grievous murrain upon all your cattle in the fields, your horses, asses, camels, oxen and sheep. Let all your wealth be corrupted and be destroyed. Father as you severed your people from the Egyptians so their cattle were not affected, I ask that you rid me and my husband of anything that is of the enemy so the effects of this plague will not harm us in any way in Jesus’ name. Pray for one day.


6. Boils (Exodus 9:8-11)—You Pharaoh Spirit keeping my marriage in captivity, I command you to let it go now. If you refuse and try to turn the mind of my next potential husband against me, in order to make him run away and quit our relationship, then like Moses, who took a handful of ashes and sprinkled it up towards heaven and caused boils to break forth upon the heads of every man and beast, I now prophetically take into my hands ashes, and sprinkle it up towards heaven. Let boils break forth upon your head, your households and upon the head of very spirit in your kingdom so that they will not be able to stand against me in order to perform their incantations in Jesus’ name. Pray for one day.


7. Hail with fire (Exodus 9:18-26)—You Pharaoh Spirit keeping my marriage in captivity, I command you to let it go now. If you refuse and try to turn the mind of my next potential husband against me, in order to make him run away and quit our relationship, I stretch forth the rod of Moses towards heaven and call forth hail and fire of the Lord to appear. Let this hail be even more grievous that what Egypt experienced, and smite you, your household, your co- conspirators, and destroy all herbs and trees in your kingdom now, in Jesus’ name. Pray for two days.


8. Locusts (Exodus 10:3-15)—You Pharaoh Spirit keeping my marriage in captivity, I command you to let it go now. If you continue refusing and keep trying to turn the mind of my next potential husband against me in order to make him run away and quit our relationship, then let locust be released all around your coast now. Let it cover the entire kingdom of darkness. Everything that the hail did not destroy let the locust now consume. Let the fear and dread of the Lord be released upon Pharaoh and all his associates concerning me in Jesus’ name. Pray for one day


9. Darkness over the land 3 days (Exodus 10:21-23)—You Pharaoh Spirit keeping my marriage in captivity, I command you to let it go now. If you continue refusing, and keep trying to turn the mind of my next potential husband against me in order to make him run away and quit our relationship, then just like Moses stretch forth his hands towards heaven and darkness cover the land of Egypt, which could be even felt, I now stretch forth my hands towards heaven and call forth darkness to cover the face of the demonic kingdom. Let this darkness be as thick as the darkness in hell that you Pharaoh and all the host of darkness fighting against me will grope around in the dark paralyzed in Jesus’ name. Pray for three days


10. Death of the First Born (Exodus 11:1-10)—You Pharaoh Spirit keeping my marriage in captivity, I command you to let it go now. If you continue refusing, and keep trying to turn the mind of my next potential husband against me in order to make him run away and quit our relationship, I have one more plague for you. Let the spirit of the living God arise in me now with vengeance and empower me to have victory today as Moses did with that final plague. Lord keep your word, which you spoke in Exodus 6:1-2 and let this enemy know that you are the Lord my God. As the enemy likes to plan and plot all their evil at the midnight hours, let this midnight be one of great moaning throughout the demonic kingdom, both in the sea and the heavenlies. Let the firstborn of Pharaoh, his witches and wizard, firstborn of all his beasts and the firstborn of all inhabitants throughout the kingdom of darkness DIE NOW. Let the Blood of Jesus cover me, my husband and our extended families, against the spirit of death that is passing through the land in Jesus’ name. Pray for one day.


11. Destroy my enemies forever (Exodus 14)Father now that the enemy has released my marriage, thank you for being a faithful God and my deliverer. Lord, I know that the same way you caused Pharaoh to pursue the children of Israel in the wilderness in order to destroy him and all his army once and for all, you will also do in my case. When fear overcame the people, you spoke comfortable words to them through Moses in verse 13-14 saying, “Fear ye not, stand still and see the salvation of the Lord: which He will show to you today: for the Egyptians you see today you shall see no more, forever. The Lord shall fight for you and you shall hold your peace.” There is no other God mightier than you Jehovah Sabaoth, who can part the red sea in my life, take my marriage safely through, and use that same red sea to wipe out all my enemies forever. Help me now to stand in faith, hold my peace, and watch you fight for me. Whatever I need to do in this moment, not to sabotage this victory, Father I ask you to help me do. Cover me, my marriage and my potential husband with the Blood of Jesus and guard our hearts and minds to be where you need us to be to have this victory in Jesus’ name, Amen. Pray for one day


Question: Did this post give you the confidence you need to not quit when you fight your enemies?



Check out this short video snippet from my spiritual warfare book- The Path of the Chosen Warriors on how to fight your spiritual enemies.



164 views0 comments
bottom of page