top of page

7 Christian Books on dealing with Grief

Updated: Apr 12

We all deal with grief differently and we can’t always tell someone that we understand their pain unless we ourselves have been in that same place of pain.


I lost my husband after only two months of marriage and it was something I never thought I would ever experience at 30 years old, but I did. He was my best friend too and died while abroad. The Lord led me nine years later to write a novel dealing with that aspect of my life to help those who had a similar experience and struggles to overcome. It’s called A Shattered Life Restored and one of the books on this list I compiled here. I hope these books will help you deal with and come to a place of acceptance to be able to move on.


I encourage you to pray and ask the Lord, which of these books is specifically for you as we all grieve differently and will relate differently to others in their pain. But what I can share about my pain is that while I was feeling the loneliness of it and thinking no one understood what I was feeling, or that I wasn't in the mood to hear anyone come to me with preaching scriptures, I felt God's presence in such a way that I knew he understood what I was feeling, and his presence was with me-no exaggeration-every day for a while and it was like feeling love hugging me.


That was what kept me close to him and allowed me to reject the negative thoughts the devil brought of bitterness, knowing how my husband died only two months after we marry and away from me.


When God brought the idea for the book to me, I only remember seeing a woman sitting on a bench in a train station weeping. I had no idea what it was about or that my experience would become the main character's. When I started to walk in obedience and sat before my laptop to write, God made it known to me then. The first 10 chapters were the hardest to write, all the grief I endured, resurfaced and all I could do was to pour that pain into the character. It was as if God was taking me through my own healing by having me share this experience, knowing that He had others out there who needed my strength to overcome their pain too and so I push through the pain and wrote the story.


I pray that for those of you who purchase my book that you will find healing and strength through Meg and know God is always with you through the pain. Here is a snippet from the book.



7 Christian Books on dealing with Grief

DISCLOSURE: This post may contain affliliate links, meaning I get a small commission if you decide to make a purchase through my links. This is at no cost to you.


Here are 7 books to help you overcome grief


A Shattered Life Restored by Marshalee Patterson


"I had the privilege of reading this book and I couldn’t give it a better rating! I couldn’t stop turning the pages.


The emotion behind the story line was so detail oriented I felt like I was there. Meg is my favorite character.


We all have a little bit of her in ourselves. Her resilience is inspirational. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, you just have to get there! I recommend this to anyone!"






Comfort for Grieving Hearts: Hope and Encouragement for Times of Loss By Gary Roe

“I have felt while reading this book like Gary Roe is reading my mind. Each day I go through things I thought and felt I was alone on. NOT SO. Since loosing our only son to cancer the different emotions range from anger hurt feeling lost and abandoned and worst of all testing my faith.


But by reading this well-written book I now realize I am not alone and my feelings are recognized. And legit. I would highly recommend this book to anyone in any stage of grief. Thank you for a very well-written book. Much gratitude. Linfa Florin.”



Divine Disruption by Tony Evan, Priscilla Shirer, Anthony Evans


"This book was an amazing read. It was wonderful to be able to see how each of the members of the Evans family responded to their losses. I was able to see myself in each of their experiences throughout different times in my life when God didn’t respond exactly as I would have wanted Him to.


It reinforced so much for me that despite my prayers not being answered in the way I would have liked or even Preferred, God was, is, and continues to be a good God. I highly recommend this book. It will restore your faith, lift you up, and encourage you all along the way."


It’s OK That You’re Not OK by Megan Devine

"When my Beloved husband was diagnosed with cancer, I knew that I would be heartbroken when he died. But I was naive as to the devastation grief would bring upon my life. I had no idea that I would no longer want to live, that death seemed to be the only answer to my devastated heart. I went to grief support groups, grief therapy, took anti-depressants, surrounded myself with friends and family who loved me, read everything about grief that I found to find some relief from my suffering.


I thought that I was losing my mind . I thought my depth of despair, my cognitive changes and my wish to end my life were abnormal. It was when I found the work of Megan Devine that I began to understand that many grief stricken people have the same experience of grief that I was having." Purchase here


Grief Walk: Experiencing God After the Loss of a Loved One by Gary Roe

"Grief Walk has helped me tremendously at a time when I thought I should be over my grieving after 27 months. It has truly confirmed for me that grieving has no time limit. What was most helpful in the book was each chapter had a scripture that I could meditate on and really keep my focus on God.


Recently I found myself crying again after 27 months. After reading Grief Walk I soon knew it was no coincidence that this book could help me in ways I could never imagined. At one point I was telling myself “get over it”… it’s been over two years that I lost my precious husband and this book has taught me I don’t have to get over it, it’s a process and God loves me right where I’m at."



Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love by Raymond R. Mitsch and Lynn Brookside


"I lost the love of my life a month ago, I felt like I was going crazy. each day I wake up I felt like I didn't want to live any more. I felt like I was suffering every single day, and I still do, but this book is so powerful.


I felt like wow someone just said exactly what I'm going through. its not easy, but this book is so comforting. any one that lost a love one this book should be someone to think about. I wouldn't have read this book weeks ago because of how deep in the dark i was in. but I'm grateful for this book that seems like saved my life."





I Wasn't Ready to Say Goodbye by Noel Brooks


"My husband went in for a routine test and ended up dying from it. His death was so sudden and so unexpected that I needed something to help me cope. As a writer I just couldn't find my own words to deal.


After reading other reviews on this book I knew I needed to order it. I read a chapter a night and it is helping me to cope and to understand that life does go on. It also helps you to understand there is no time limit on grief and no two people will ever grieve the same. Much thanks to the author."






Save pin for later


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page