top of page

Can Christian Fiction improve your relationship with Christ?

Updated: Jan 19

As a Christian Fiction author, I have come to realize that I too have to give an account to God at the end of my life for what I contributed in feeding his sheep, as we are all called to do.

Can Christian Fiction improve your relationship with Christ

Fiction or Non-fiction we still have an audience and steering them towards Christ is what we are all called to do. God taught me when I started my first novel that it was about his will and not what I wanted to write about. I had one idea for my story and in the middle of the third chapter, God brought new ideas for the story, changing it completely. However, it turned out to be one that taught me so much about faith and that became the theme of that story.


When I started my second novel The Path of the Chosen Warriors which is a spiritual warfare fiction, God had me in the scriptures throughout writing it. He gave me the idea for this book through a dream. I was learning a lot about spiritual warfare prayers at the time and also understanding dreams in more significant details, which revealed how we get enslaved. What amazed me was even though I was writing the story, God was edifying me at the same time. I saw so much growth in my spiritual life and my relationship with God and this made me see the significance of obeying God, so readers can receive the same lessons that will transform their lives as he was doing with mine.

.

Here are 5 ways the Lord edify me and made me a better Christian while writing the book.

.

1. Taught me the importance of starting my day with the Lord


Can Christian Fiction improve your relationship with Christ

King David wrote in Psalm 63:1-2, “O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is; To see thy power and thy glory, so as I have seen thee in the sanctuary.”


Starting the day with the Lord was an attribute the main character Joshua, in my book- The Path of the Chosen Warriors had. One I recognise I needed to improve upon after the book was complete. I needed to put Christ first. It helped me to become more committed than I was before.

.

2. Learned patience while waiting for God to answer my prayers.


James 1-4 says, “But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.”


Hannah was banished from the town and forced to live in isolation because she chose not to serve the demon-god Abaddon. Even though I wrote the book—it was done under the influence of the Holy Spirit, so God was edifying me as well and when I saw Hannah’s faith where she trusted God despite what the townspeople did to her and the love that Christ had in her towards the people, causing her to be praying for their deliverance for nearly 20 years, it increased my faith not to stop praying until I see the answer come.


3. Learn to see God in everything

Isaiah 43:2, says, “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, Nor will the flame burn you.”


Sometimes we see disasters and blame the devil not knowing that God is orchestrating something for His glory. The Lord used a storm to bring Joshua and Ruth to a town as vile as Sodom and Gomorrah. In doing so, he helped them discover what His purpose for their lives was and helped them to trust Him through it. Now when I find trouble comes my ways, instead of blaming the devil, I first ask God, "What do you wants me to learn from this situation?"

.

4. Distraction is a tool of the devil


Can Christian Fiction improve your relationship with Christ

1 Peter 5:8 - Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour.”


When the town’s people surrendered to Christ and found their way at the shrine of the High Priest to help their new friends whom the Lord had used to deliver them from being slaves to Abaddon. It was their focused unity when firing their warfare prayers against the possessed High Priest that gave them victory over the evil demon god. They knew that Ruth could be severely hurt when she was thrown into the river by the possessed High-Priest, but they did not let even that distract them from losing the battle. This taught me that many times when we are praying and our prayers are becoming effective against the devil's plans, he many times will try to distract us with family members even with having one of them feeling sick at that moment- but you need to stay focused.

.

5. God is Faithful


2 Thessalonians 3:3 says, “But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen you and protect you from the evil one.”

The Lord told Joshua that Ruth was the wife He chose for him, yet she was almost killed by the High Priest. Because they trusted the Lord and fulfilled what he called them to do while in that town, the Lord in return provided for their every need concerning their protection, happiness and marriage. We as Christians are all warriors for God and created with everything need to fight on whatever battlefield we are assigned.

.

Trust God to be faithful and rid yourself of fear. It has helped me to trust him more even not knowing the next step. I know that He will make whatever He brings my hands to do prosperous.

.

We are all warriors in the Lord’s Army and Chosen for a specific task.

.

Question: What Fictional Book have you read that made a positive impact on your life and influenced you in some way? Here are some of the classic literature I grew up on that influenced my life positively. Click here


Save pin for later

can christian fiction improve your relationship with christ

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page