top of page

What does a wedding dress symbolizes to you?

Updated: Jan 7

I was writing a scene for my upcoming book- A Shattered Life Restored and a scene about the bride wearing her mother-in-law’s wedding dress made me think about a post I saw on Facebook some time ago.


Would you wear your mother's dress on your wedding day?


This was a question someone posted and one of the comments caught my attention. The person's response was, "No, she wouldn't because her mother had her day to shine and now she wanted her own dress to shine."


While I can't argue with her choice, I found myself thinking of what makes passing down a wedding dress so special.


Many people are scared of getting married -fear of divorce, getting over that 5-year hurdle and also falling out of love with their spouse. But the dress is only part of the celebration of getting married and I find myself seeing the dress as a symbol of a marriage that survives all the obstacles and the fears of most.


When a mother goes through all the joys, sorrows, frustrations, anger among others and after many years still find herself married to the same husband and even love him still -- handing down her dress to her daughter, in her eyes I believe is a blessing she wants to pass on. Hoping that what she overcame to now appreciate what marriage truly is. Her strength, her patience, perseverance, learning to understand the man she married and coming to appreciate him and helping him to appreciate her -- can be something she hopes gets passed on to her daughter along with the dress.


So, to me, it’s like, God passing down a blessing to me in the gift of someone’s victory.

Sometimes the best gifts we receive are not shiny or sparking things, but something that will give us enough strength and courage to be victorious in our own journey.


I would love to hear your thoughts on how you view a dress passing down or if my post made you look at it from a new perspective. Even if you're a man, I would still like to hear from your perspective what comes to your mind of your mother passing down her dress.





Order your copy now!


Would you like to read the first five chapters of this awesome book before you make your purchase?







Save pin for later.


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page