top of page

Why do men walk away from God?

Updated: Apr 12

There are many reasons why people walk away from God. All of which they always have a reason to justify doing so.

why do men walk away from god

Three common ones come to mind are:

a. That God doesn’t care about their needs.

b. That He allows bad things to happen to them and their loved ones.

c. People choose to keep their lustful or sinful desires and have reasons to justify doing so.


First thing to think about when it comes to all of the above reasons is this—if God could send His ONLY begotten son JESUS CHRIST to suffer and die a gruesome death on a cross for our sins, (John 3:16) just to redeem us back to himself as his children to whom he said should inherit the blessings of Abraham, (Galatians 3:13-14) why would he not care about our well-being? Let’s discuss each one and show you that God does care, so you won’t walk away from Him, or if you have, you will return.


God doesn’t care about my needs

This scripture came to mind as I was thinking about this statement and it’s Matthew 7:9-11, “What man is there of you, whom if his son asks for bread, will he give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent? If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?”


Meditate on this statement for a bit.


God creates all of us with gifts and talents which is to make room for our blessings. Many of us come into the world knowing what these gifts and talents are while some of us like myself wasn’t sure. However, there is always something in our lives that we do that is often a clue to what it is, even if the devil hides it from us.


why do men walk away from god

What you can do until you discover what they are, is what I did. Get a regular job with whatever skill you have and while you’re working in that job, pray and ask God to reveal your purpose. Show you your hidden gifts and talents. Don’t grumble against the job you have, see God there and ask yourself, what can I do to better myself while on this job? No matter how bad a job may be, there is always something to take from it.


Sometimes God allows us to be at that job to teach us how to walk in the fruits of the spirit found in Galatians 5:22-23 (love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control). For us to live a fruitful life with our gifts and talents we will need them. Many times, the people or circumstances we view as problematic are there to help rid us of negative traits inside of us that God wants to remove to push us into our gifts.


This is why we are always encouraged when we find ourselves in situations, we struggle with, to ask God these questions—what do you want me to learn? or what do you want to rid me of?


What if I already know my purpose and yet I’m struggling-why doesn’t God make a way for me to prosper with the gift?


That would be what those who already know their gifts probably would ask. Since I learned of my gift to write books, I had asked that question a few times as well. However, what I had learned is that God always gives us room to become better and time to build ourselves a platform or audience. In this time of growth, he wants us to stay humble and not allow pride to take over that could cause us to make bad decisions. God is the potter who molds the clay until it’s perfect. Two verses I want to leave with you to keep you are:


Matthew 11:28-30 “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.


Exodus 23 is a great chapter to study but verse 25 is one I meditate on to keep my eyes on God. And ye shall serve the Lord your God, and he shall bless thy bread, and thy water; and I will take sickness away from the midst of thee.”


Be prayerful and trust God while you wait for him to open that door for you.


Why does God allow bad things to happen to us?

My brother was born with sickle cell anemia when I was just starting high school. He was always sick. I remember one day staring at him while he was in his crib and saw his swollen fingers and with tears in my eyes, I asked God to let me take his place.


For many years he was in and out of the hospital and his pain were always so severe. No one else in my family has this disease but we learned that most of us were born with the trait as is common to black people. Since I became an adult, I would often go to the market to buy fruits and vegetables to make natural juice. I would always ensure that I made enough for my brother to get to build up his red blood cells.


Why does God allow bad things to happen to us

But you might say why did God allow your brother to be born with that disease in the first place. I will show you that he didn’t. Back in 2015 when God opened the door for me to start my writing journey, he also opened my eyes to spiritual warfare as it as become part of my writing. It is while during that time that I understood the parable in Matthew 13:25-30 a lot more.


What we don’t understand is that Satan send evil seeds into our lives through our dreams and it’s through dreams that God oftentimes reveals the devils plans against us. If we don’t get up from those dreams and begin to pray against them so they don’t manifest, then we will see them manifest on the day of harvesting as the scriptures say.


I had two separate dreams seeing my nephews take over my homosexual spirit and a cross-dressing demon and God gave me Isaiah 49:25-26 in the dream to use as a weapon against them. When I woke up from those dreams, I called them and used olive oil to anointed their heads and their private areas and then prayed for them and against those dreams. This is what you need to do too- take action right away. Kill that seed before it turns into a tree.


In my brother’s case, the seed had already turned into a tree because neither myself nor my family were saved at that time or knew anything about ancestral curses, witchcraft, spiritual warfare etc. The bible says, “my people perish for lack of knowledge,” in Hosea 4:6 and many families are suffering because of this as did mine.


When I started praying at midnight doing warfare prayers, I started to have visions of different demonic beings that were affecting different parts of my life. In 2018 the Lord told me to go on 21 days of midnight prayers praying against the spirit of witchcraft. I can share the link to the ministry that taught me much about this and some of the prayer points I used when praying.


It was during one of these nights God revealed to me the cause of my brother’s infirmity. In the dream I saw a nest of black snakes (baby ones) on his bed which I quickly set on fire in the dream. However, when I awoke, I realized that it was these serpents which was causing him to be sick all this time. I got olive oil and consecrated water and applied all over his mattress and then wrote a few prayer points based on what was revealed in the dream and prayed during the rest of my midnight prayers.


God doesn't care about my needs

Since that time, he has not gotten sick with that again and even learn to look out for sign if attack to prevent it. What I am saying is this, God doesn’t cause these things to happen, he reveals the source of our problems through dreams and many of us ignore them.


I will leave a link to a website that understand spiritual warfare a lot and is apart of the ministry I started with to help you understand meaning behind some of your dreams and gives you lots of warfare prayer points to use to pray against those dreams.


Another instance in which we would say why does God allow this to happen to me, I explain in my third book-A Shattered Life Restored with one of the main characters who had strayed from God because he lost his wife and child and just gave up.


God used Meg another of the main characters to cause Derek to reflect on his relationship with God. The first instance was while they were at dinner and he told her that he lost his way-Meg asked him.


“Do you think God stops loving us when we do things that are sinful?”


“No, I don’t think he does Meg.”


“Then why should we turn our backs on Him when we fall into misfortunes? Is that not like a one-sided love?”


Her second question gives much to think about, doesn’t it?


This next scene is another to makes you think.


“Yes, I guess God has been using you to remind me that I needed to make things right with Him. When you told me you forgave me yesterday, despite everything I did, I realised also that God was letting me see he had forgiven me too for walking so far away from him. I have been feeling so much of His presence since yesterday.”


“Does that mean you are ready to recommit your life to Him?” Derek gave her a teasing smile and bit a piece of his french toast.


“Well, tell me,” she insisted poking his arm.


“Alright, I’ll tell you. Yes, sweetheart, I am ready. God didn’t just give me one blessing with giving me you; He gave me David as well.”


“Is that the reason you are committing your life back to Him?”


Derek’s smile faded and he stared into Meg’s eyes. “I’m ashamed to admit it, Meg. I guess for a hard-headed person like me, it takes a little more to help me find my way back to Him and remind me that His love had never left me, even when I didn’t feel like I had it."


How many of us have been where Derek was—only going back to God when we see His arms opened to us? How many of us felt like God had abandoned us?


What about those who walk away from God because of their own sinful lust and try to justify reasons why? That will be responded to in part two of this post entitled: What does it mean to fall into sin?


SPIRITUAL WARFARE FICTION BOOK

From the time I started A Shattered Life Restored, I felt it was meant to restore and heal and so many need that. If that's you then order your copy of the book here on AMAZON OR KOBO. Share the link with someone who you know does as well.


So please share your comments and let me know your thoughts on any of the questions in this post.


If you are interested in reading the first five chapters from my book- A Shattered Life Restored, which I mentioned in this post, click here to download a free pdf.




Here is the link to where you can get dream interpretation and warfare prayers to pray against them. https://evangelistjoshua.com/dealing-spirit-spouse/

This is the link to the ministry that taught me most of what I know on spiritual warfare and you will find lots of prayer points on different topics you can use in prayer. MFM Ministries


Check out this short video snippet from my book Life's Journey our Great Test about the Light vs. Darkness. You can subscribe to the Youtube channel as well to grow more on your spiritual walk.






131 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page